Make your own free website on Tripod.com
OFM ARCHIVES - PHILIPPINES PHOTO GALLERY
OFM ARCHIVES - PHILIPPINES PHOTO GALLERY
PHILIPPINE CHURCHES THAT THE FRANCISCANS BUILT(BULACAN and LAGUNA)
« previous | next »
MEYCAUAYAN, BULACAN (1578)
MEYCAUAYAN, BULACAN (1578) 
 
In Spanish, Meycawayan means a places with abundant bomboo canes. This town was founded in the year 1578 to 1579 by the friars Fr. Juan de Plasencia and Fr. Diego de Oropesa. Of old it was the capital of Bulacan province and was situated about half a leagues to the East, on a small slope or hill. The church and a great part of the town being ruined by a storm in the year 1588 it was transferred to a site called Lagado by Fr. Antonio de Nombela, Minister of the town on the orders of San Pedro Bautista, although no authentic record exist to the effect, but one thing is certain. In the year 1668, the present place and Meycawayan has always remained in this site. The church is under the advocation of St. Francis of Assisi, was at the beginning of bamboo and nipa. Was destroyed by the typhoon of 1588, It was rebuilt after wards but no record exists as to what place, in the same site where it was ruined or in the new site of Lagolo. One thing is certain. A decree of the Superior Goberierno dated 1599 granted license to built a church of stone for the town which was effected the following years. This edifice lasted until 1668 when the town was transferred to the site from Lagolo to the present one. The new minister Fr. Nicolas Santiago began the construction of the church in this new site followed by his successors. A simple edifice but strong enough, 60 yards long some 12and a half yards width. In 1784 a remodeling of the edifice was done by Fr. Jose Cantos. In 1800 the town was built by Fr. Francisco GascueƱa, who also made the arch sustaining the choir of stone in 1804. Lastly in 1851, the zealous parroco, Fr. Benito de Madridejos made various repairs, new retablos on the altar and painted the edifice, beautified and enriched it, to the contentment and wonder of any Christian beholder. Beside is a hermitage of stone with nipa roofing where the Christ of Malahacat is venerated by the folks of that barrio where the hermitage is located and every year, in the month of May its fiesta is celebrated...
OFMARCHIVESPHILCHURCHES
OFM ARCHIVES - PHILIPPINES